Federally Qualified Health Centers & Rural Health Clinics (UCHC, South River Clinic, URMC)


 What are Federally qualified health centers (FQHCs)?

Federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) include all organizations receiving grants under Section 330 of the Public Health Service Act (PHS). FQHCs qualify for enhanced reimbursement from Medicare and Medicaid, as well as other benefits. FQHCs must serve an underserved area or population, offer a sliding fee scale, provide comprehensive services, have an ongoing quality assurance program, and have a governing board of directors. Certain tribal organizations and FQHC Look-Alikes (an organization that meets PHS Section 330 eligibility requirements, but does not receive grant funding) also may receive special Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement.

Developed by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) as a resource for health centers and other safety net and ambulatory care providers who are seeking to implement health IT.

Info Source:
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Rural Health Introduction

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please enter your comments about our posts here. Thanks!